It’s the first of the month.

It’s March. Oh, what a happy day. I look forward to this day every year, as soon as I finish celebrating Halloween. Now it is here and it brings much work with it.

A couple weeks ago, I volunteered to be the social media manager for one of the non-profit groups I work with. I must have sold myself well because I was given the position within days of expressing interest. I will be sharing duties with two other volunteers, but I personally have already been tasked with the following:

  • creating a LinkedIn profile for the group
  • translating content to Spanish
  • managing incoming emails
  • launching a YouTube channel, which I will also need to create content for.

I will be working my hiney off, without any monetary compensation, for – you should guess it – the animals! With how involved I have become with The Resistance against Trump, grassroots mobilization, and local politics, I quickly realized that I must also remember my most important calling… Animal activism.

I may work with animals, adopt them, rescue them, advocate for them, and donate money to them, but that is simply not enough. Not for me anyway. I need to volunteer for them and with them as well. My life would lack fulfillment otherwise, and that is no way to live, right?

The first three tasks are no sweat, I can easily manage, and actually got an early start over the weekend. The final task, though? That will take some creativity and self-educating. I am willing to do this because it will be additional skills to deepen my arsenal and again, it’s for the animals. I am already familiar with the ins and outs of YouTube, but downloaded a helpful book to my Kindle anyhow. It specifically focuses on tips for marketing via the channel, which happens to be our purpose.

How about videography and film editing? Well, those are entirely different beasts that must be tamed. I purchased Digital SLR Video and Filmmaking for Dummies and recruited Che (his resume includes filming and editing documentaries and music videos) for help because lawd, I will need it. Badly. I am a complete dummy, a newb, clueless. I have no idea where to begin! Thankfully, we are not launching until April so I at least have some time to try to get my shit together. Lots to do and learn this month.

Wish me luck.

____________________

In other news, it’s moving month! Packing has commenced thanks to all the boxes that I can just bring home from work. I will likely be returning them to work after the move because, in case you did not know, we should all recycle all that we can. #loveourplanet

In even more news, important people at work like me! What?

Not too long ago, COBane – my friend and coworker – jokingly told me that she hated me. Okay, Yankee, I don’t get you. She explained that she overheard Bossman say he wished every employee was more like me, always positive and smiling. (Ha! I can just imagine her rolling her eyes when she heard that!) Then last week one of the head honchos told me that every department and doctor wishes that I worked for them. Is that so? Really? Me? Um, awesome! Thank you for sharing!

My eyes are starting to cross. No more writing. No further details.

Cannot elaborate. Must sleep.

Good night.

Leave a Reply

