Half-anniversary

Tomorrow, the boyfriend and I will complete yet another six months together. Sixty-six months altogether. A total of 2,008 days. Five and a half years. But who’s counting anyway?

This year has actually been a bit rough on us as a couple. Things have felt… “off”. There has been a sort of disconnect or lack of chemistry, I have felt an unwelcome distance between us, and we have argued over trivial things. [sigh] That’s all normal in long-term relationships. The honeymoon phase ends and real life bitchslaps hard enough to cause the butterflies to be forcefully expelled from your stomach. It’s what was to be expected, is it not? I see other couples go through this and much worse. It’s not so bad with us, right? These are all things I keep telling and asking myself. Clearly I need further convincing.

Ugghhhh.

Should I hold my relationship to a higher standard? That might be ridiculous and unreasonable. But I don’t want to settle either. Can’t things be better? Why aren’t things better? We have talked and talked and talked numerous times this year. All very honest and open conversations. We should be better. Man, oh, man. Relationships are work.

That’s the thing, though. We are both willing to work. We are not willing to give up on us. We love one another. My goodness, I am certain that he would have ditched me a LONG time ago if he didn’t love me! I am something else!

So tomorrow… tomorrow is another milestone for us. And while we may not make a big celebration out of it, I will be happy. I will be proud of us. I will be thankful for him and for what we have together. I will even give him a small gift… Because I am a goober.

Poor guy is in love with a goober. 🙂

Leave a Reply

