A post about warmth and kindness

I feel that when I wear a sweater, jacket, or coat that belongs to someone I love, there is an added warmth to it. I felt this way as a child, when I would wear my parents’ sweatshirts. I felt it even more when I was in college, became homesick, and again, would dress myself in sweaters and jackets belonging to my Mom, which I would not-so-subtly snatch during my visits home. Now, it’s my boyfriend’s hoodies that do the trick. Walking my dog in the bitter cold is more bearable when I am snug in Dustin’s aroma.

There is much that I want to share and put in words, but now is not the time. I will share a little story from the previous weekend, though.

As some of you may or may not know, I do not own a car. I hate cars. I appreciate that they get me places and all, but I do not want to own one nor drive one. I rely on public transportation, my legs, and carpooling to get about. I have done so my entire adult life, and while not always convenient, I have made it work. This also keeps the environmentalist in me content.

Dustin does own a car, but it has been acting up for a few weeks and so over the weekend, I decided to walk to Target for some necessities since we couldn’t take that darn vehicle. The store is only about a mile away from our place, which is a short distance for someone who enjoys walking and running as much as I do. Surprisingly, though, Dustin decided to join me and off we went, hand in hand, chit chatting, discussing what we needed to buy, and enjoying the weather.

After getting the things we needed, we ended up looking at trees, of course, and since they were half off, we decided to look for one to put up at our place. How could we resist? We found one that we both really liked at a pretty cheap price. It was the last one so we bought it, even though we realized we would have to carry it back home.

We were likely less than a quarter of the way back, Dustin carrying the huge tree while I carried bags full of everything else we had purchased, when we noticed a car pull over ahead of us. A man stepped out of the driver’s seat and motioned for us to get in. With shock and gratitude, we accepted the offer, put the tree and bags in the car, and climbed in as well. The driver was an older gentleman and once in the car, we met his wife, a sweet old lady who paused when I told her my name because she loved it so much.

Obviously, the ride was short because we really weren’t too far away, at least not by car. When walking with bags and a six-foot tree, sure, it seems pretty far. I can’t remember their names because the entire time we were in the car, both kept talking over one another. The man talked to Dustin while the lady talked to me. It was hard to listen! Once they had dropped us off, they wished as a happy Thanksgiving and went about their day. What a happy and sweet couple!

I hope that Dustin and I grow old together and can some day do something sweet for a struggling young couple as well. Not that Dustin and I are in dire need or anything, but we did lack a car! My bigger hope, though, is that we can pay it forward sometime sooner rather than later.

Be kind to one another, y’all. This world needs more kindness.

Leave a Reply

