Dustin loves Daisy

We say the words to each other so often, multiple times a day. I love you. We don’t say them so much that they have lost their value, though. I know that when we both say them, we both mean them. Actions speak louder than words, however, and as much as I enjoy hearing him express that sentiment in spoken word, the little things he does just floor me.

On Friday, I overslept and was so late that walking Canelo before work was a no-go. Dustin heard me wake up in a panic and without hesitation, let me know that I did not have to worry. He promised to take my sweet boy out for me, even though that meant him having to chnage up his morning routine. Thank. goodness.

Yesterday, I convinced him to go to the Texas A&M football game with me. Note: the Texas Aggies are not his team. His team is from Austin. They call themselves the Texas Longhorns. Going to the game with me meant not watching his own team and giving up a day of gaming. Not only did he go, but he even did Saw Varsity’s Horns Off with me. That’s the part of the game when all Aggies link arms and legs, sway together, and loudly sing about sawing the longhorns off. Here’s a video example of it. This is what I forced Dustin to do:

It’s not exactly something a Longhorn fan would be fond of listening to, let alone participate in. He must really love me.

Today, I woke up hungry, but did some busywork before really thinking about eating. By the time that work was done, I was READY to eat and on the verge of becoming hangry. I thought I had some vegan enchiladas in the fridge, but as it turned out, they all had cheese in them and thus, belonged to Dustin. Not being in the mood for cooking, I ordered Thai delivery. My food arrived about thirty minutes later and I gladly indulged in it. As I was eating, Dustin got up to warm up his enchiladas.

“Did me eating make you hungry?” I asked.

“I was already hungry, but I knew you were hungry and didn’t want to eat before you did.”

He’s so polite and sweet. This man knows how awful I become when I am hungry and so, he waited. He’s not only polite and sweet, he’s selfless! I can’t help but think of those questionnaires that ask women to rank the qualities they want in a man. The choices are always the same old adjectives: intelligent, funny, passionate, attractive, rich, and so on. Well, my favorite attribute in Dustin is his selflessness.

He thinks about me, takes my feelings into consideration, tiptoes around me at times (I know that’s awful and I wish he didn’t feel the need to do that) all because he loves me. Ugh. I still adore every time he says I love you to me, but the seemingly trivial things he does are all the convincing I need to try to keep this fella around forever.

I do his laundry!

Leave a Reply

