Sing a song

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Number One: Ron con Coca-Cola by Mister Chivo

The first song in my memory, the first song I remember singing. My mind associates this song, and Mr. Chivo in general, to road trips, Mexico, and my parents. If my memory reaches back to when I was four years old, then my Mom was twenty-eight while my Dad was thirty at the time that I learned this song. They were pretty much the age that I am now. This is the music they were listening to at my age, what they played in the car, what they danced to, what they allowed my brother and me to listen to. While it may not be a lyrical or musical masterpiece, this song is damn special.

Number Two: December Days by The Rocket Summer

It’s my go-to song, and has been for the past twelve years. I can be in the absolute worst mood, but can instantly feel better with this song. I don’t even have to listen to it… As long as I sing it out loud and dance to it, all is well. Get you back into my life, gotta get you get you back into myyyy liiiiiiife!

Number Three: Can’t Fight This Feeling by REO Speedwagon

This is the first song that Dustin told me made him think of me. He told me that he would listen to it on repeat in his car while driving away from dropping me off at my house after each hangout session. He told me that he didn’t know how to feel about falling for me? Something along those lines. That was five years ago and I don’t remember the details, but I do remember it all being very sweet and me feeling all sorts of butterflies.

That’s it. Those are my songs. They may not be epic, but they’re it for me.

Leave a Reply

