I love my parents.

My parents came to visit me last night. Not for very long since my Dad had to wake up very early this morning, but they drove an hour (thirty minutes here and thirty minutes back) just to spend an equal amount of time with me. Isn’t that sweet? I’m smiling about it as I type. I hadn’t thought about their visit all day, but now I am finally home and sitting here with my thoughts. Now, I’m recalling the visit and just how special it made me feel.

Work was exhausting again today. We’ve just been so busy lately! While standing in the operating room during a lengthy surgery this afternoon, I caught a glimpse of a pigeon hopping around outside and thought, “want to be outside!” Work is so time-consuming! It’s life-consuming, for just about everyone. Sometimes I feel as though we can’t all be our true selves because we spend so much of our lives working (I’m not only referring to myself here, but all humans in the work force). My true self would be outside with that pigeon being an absolute weirdo. It’s frustrating that I can’t always do exactly what I want to do because of consequences, because such is life.

Just when I was on the verge of lamenting, I thought of my parents’ visit. My parents just remind me about how simple life can be. They are so humbling. Maybe it’s because they remind me of my childhood. Maybe it’s because they have loved and respected me since I was a nonproductive human being (a kid). Maybe it’s because I know that I can fail miserably and find them welcoming home with open arms, ready to take care of me as if I had never left. Whatever it is, they make me forget all that worries me or frustrates me or angers me or annoys me. I just forget and then… Then I’m my true self, just like I want to be.

Oh, I love those two. I needed their visit. And I needed to remember their visit. I can’t wait to see them again.

Leave a Reply

