Catchup

There is very much I want to write about. I don’t even know where to begin.

There was that funk I was in last month when I was given orders to stay off my feet. I was the last thing I wrote about. Well, a few days later I went to see an orthopedist who gave me a much more positive prognosis. Then, I started seeing a physical therapist a few times a week. A change in medications and a few key exercises and my knee started feeling A LOT better. I was almost in disbelief when thinking about how slowly my knee healed in the first two weeks (before seeing the orthopedist and beginning physical therapy) versus how quickly it healed in just a few days.

Now, I am pretty much back to normal except for some minor pain here and there when I apply too much pressure on it or have it bumped. The bruising on my leg is still ghastly, but I do not care: it’s summertime and will show off my legs if I want to!

Slowly but surely, I will return to running. I am continuing work on the stationary bike, then I should be moving on to the elliptical, then I will start jogging, and finally… I will be running again. The thought just fills me with flutters of excitement and anxiety. I cannot wait! During my last physical therapy session, they had me do exercises with weights and I flew right through them. I felt so proud because before, I had only done static stretches. When I was asked if I wanted to amp things up, I very enthusiastically responded that I did! I was told to speak up if any of the exercises were too much, but they were not. They felt fantastic! felt fantastic!

So currently, I am in a state of happy stupor. I  can squat, I can lunge, I can kick, I can dance, I can jump. I can go on my long walks again. I can start volunteering (walking dogs) again. And, I know I keep coming back to it, but I can eventually start running again!

The excitement is almost too much to contain. It certainly cannot be contained in a blog post.

Have a happy, joyful day!

 

Leave a Reply

