Hmmph

I thought I was finding balance in my life. I was waking up early on weekends and being productive, well before my boyfriend woke up. I was discovering new places to visit on my own by walking and taking public transportation. I was running, I was going to the gym, I was volunteering. It was all so great!

Then I injured my knee.

So what does a person who depends so much on her knee (on her legs, in general) do when there is an injury? I mean, I am constantly on my feet at work. The volunteer work that I do involves walking dogs. Walking is a significant mode of transportation for me. Walking my dog is the best way to start my day and the perfect way to unwind at the end of it. Obviously, I love running. That’s what I do, that’s my hobby, that’s my workout. What do I do without two functional legs?!

This is one of those times. It is time to handle what life hands. I have to stay positive and use the time that I would have used to run to do other things. Maybe I can do other exercises, sleep more, practice calligraphy, learn more French, get out and take more photos. Who knows? The possibilities are endless. I have so much opportunity, it is ridiculous.

Well, I have an appointment with a physical therapist on Friday. I hope it goes well, I hope I am not told that I have to limit my activity for a frustrating amount of time. I hope I am shown exercises that are safe for me to do. I hope we can speed up the recovery process.

We shall see.

For now, I am incredibly grateful for the kindness and patience of those around me. From random strangers who hold doors for me, carry my crutches, give up their seats, carry my purchases… All for me. I am grateful. My coworkers picking up where I am slacking. Dustin walking my dog and keeping me safe and checking on me. Uff. I fall in love with him all over again.

Keep the positive vibes going this week.

 

Leave a Reply

